Inductee Spotlight

The A. R. Ammons Literary Scholarship

Southeastern Community College in Whiteville, North Carolina, has established the A. R. Ammons Literary Scholarship.

A.R. Ammons, an inductee of the North Carolina Literary Hall of Fame, was born in Columbus County in 1926. He has been described as a major American poet in the tradition of Ralph Waldo Emerson and Walt Whitman. Generally opting for free forms, his poetry focused on man’s relationship to nature, the problems of identity, permanence and change, and the processes of nature.

A two-time winner of the National Book Award, plus the Bollingen Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry, Ammons published nearly thirty volumes of poetry. He taught poetry at Cornell University in Ithaca, New York, from 1964 until he retired as the Goldwin Smith Professor Emeritus of Poetry in 1998.

SCC’s Williamson Library houses the A.R. Ammons Collection, and Columbus County sponsors the A.R. Ammons Poetry Competition each year.

SCC is still seeking gifts to establish a $30,000 endowment. To contribute, please send your contribution to:

Sue Hawks
Executive Dean of Institutional Advancement
P.O. Box 151
Whiteville, NC 28472

Indicate that your gift is for the Ammons Scholarship, which is tax-deductible as allowed by law.

Questions about the endowment can be directed to Ms. Hawks at 910-642-7141, ext. 320.